Posted by: anniewilson | August 23, 2008

Grandma’s Simple Sausage Gravy

 I used to watch my grandmother cook for hours and I learned a LOT from her. This was an easy recipe to remember so I know it’s exactly like Grandma used to make.

One of the best recipes that she ever taught me was something that I never saw growing up in Chicago…it was sausage gravy that you pour over biscuits. Of course, you can always pour it over toast, but down in the South, they use biscuits.

I have used this sauce as an Eggs Benedict sauce as well, pouring it over English Muffins, fried eggs and a slice of ham or a sausage patty. This recipe is very simple, don’t make it tough on yourself. One pound of sausage will make enough gravy for 4-6 people, depending on how much they eat.

1 lb. pork breakfast sausage (Oddly enough, the CHEAPEST sausage works the best! I wouldn’t make this with the more expensive brands, it just isn’t as good.)
3 heaping tblsp. of flour
About two cups of milk added slowly

First, fry the pound of sausage in a frying pan, crumbled up. Leave the fat in the pan with the meat when you’re done. Once the meat is cooked all the way through, add the flour and stir it up until it’s dissolved. Then, add the milk, a quarter cup at a time, stirring it into the flour/sausage mixture. Let it simmer until it’s at the consistency that you like and then season with a bit of salt and pepper. It doesn’t need much seasoning because the sausage is usually seasoned itself. But, a bit is always good.

Be sure that you don’t use hot sausage, mild works the best…trust me on that one.

Pour the sausage gravy over biscuits, toast or English Muffins and serve alone or with eggs. I fry an egg and put it on top of the gravy but you don’t have to do that. This is a meal in itself and quite filling. I wouldn’t want to serve it everyday, but a nice weekend morning is a great time for this meal. A true man’s favorite, every single one of my husband’s liked this meal!


Leave a comment

Categories