Posted by: anniewilson | March 18, 2009

The War of the Word

I believed that I mentioned my new BFF, Sarah. I adore her and ordinarily we share many of the same views. Ever since I met her I’ve enjoyed her and her bubbly personality. She usually uses such good judgement and her sense of humor is a whacked as mine. She laughs at my antics and I enjoy that, I really do. It encourages me to push envelopes and I am an envelope pusher from way back.

We drove past The Philly Connection yesterday and I waved insanely at someone I didn’t know. He waved back at me from behind the Philly counter, wearing his apron and paper hat. Sarah and I enjoyed that.

Then, after Sarah mentioned how gay it was for a man to wear pink, we saw a guy walking down the street in a pink shirt. I couldn’t let that go. I had to warn him, after all, he might visit Montana at some point and what if he were to don his pink shirt there? My ex is in Montana. I thought he was a big ol’ cowboy and perhaps he was…but I soon learned that cowboys are actually just rednecks with bigger hats.

So, I shouted to the young man, “PINK? You’re wearing a PINK SHIRT? ARE YOU NUTS!” Sarah and I drove away, assured that we had saved that young man from a hideous cowboy bar fight.

Yes, as Sarah says, we are good. All we have to do is position ourselves properly and then we’ll be golden.

But this morning, Sarah and I seem to be encountering our very first argument. I didn’t even see it coming.

As I sipped my first cup of coffee, I read my email. There was one from Sarah and I eagerly opened it to begin today’s email exchange.

Sarah’s email contained a tricky little question that seemed innocent enough. She queried, “What’s the word?”

Naturally, I responded, “The bird is the word.”

Sarah, usually not one to be stuck in the days of disco argued, “No, Grease is the word.”

I had been challenged. The fight is on. To Sarah, I present the following evidence that the bird is, indeed, the word:

To which Sarah responded:

We’ve decided to leave it up to you guys…what the heck IS the word?

Responses

  1. In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

    Sorry, even though I’m not religious I couldn’t resist.

  2. It’s OK. But nice reminder, my war is not the only war over words.

    : (

  3. Papa ooh mau mau. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

